Most people think that divorce is a long process, but it doesn’t have to be. Depending on your state’s laws and the unique characteristics of your marriage, your divorce process may be shorter than others. Get all the facts on North Carolina divorce laws to understand how long it takes for a divorce to be finalized.
North Carolina Divorce Laws
In order to file for divorce in North Carolina, the following requirements must be met:
The couple must have lived separately and apart for at least one year.
The separation was intended to be permanent.
One of the spouses has been a North Carolina resident for at least six months.
“Separation” doesn’t mean that the spouses stay in separate bedrooms in the same home. In order to be considered separated in North Carolina, the spouses must live in different residences for 12 months for there to be no doubt of the separation. Once the above requirements are met, the spouses may file for divorce.
How Long Does the Divorce Process Take?
Because of North Carolina’s divorce laws, the divorce process will take at least 12 months, since spouses have to be separated for one year before filing for divorce. After that, the length of the divorce process depends on several factors, including:
The amount and value of assets involved.
Whether there was a prenuptial or postnuptial agreement.
Whether there are any children of the marriage.
Thinking of Filing for Divorce? Let Us Help You
Since divorce can be complex and time-consuming, it’s best to consult with a qualified family law attorney who is well-versed in your state’s marriage and divorce laws. Our Charlotte divorce attorneys deal with divorce issues every day and have the skills and resources to help you transition through the process as comfortably as possible.
If you want to file for divorce in North Carolina, contact Rech Law, P.C. at (704) 659-0007 for a consultation with our team.